• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Copy and rename files? Or just rename?

Hi there. I'm a noobie editor, doing a rough cut in Premiere of a web series I'm producing. (I'll get a real editor for the real cut.) I renamed all of my files to reflect the scene, setup, and take. (Eg, "5E-4.mov") Since I'm a noob and super cautious, I also retained a complete set of files with their original names from the camera. I can't think of any reason I need to keep those, and so I assume that I should delete them. But for some reason it bothers me not to have the copy of the media as it came out of the camera. What do the grownups do?

Thanks for your advice!

Dave

I'm a writer rather than an editor, but I've learned the hard way to always keep the old version of anything that I write, because there have been a surprising number of times when I've wanted to refer to something, or re-use it. I suspect that the same holds true in your case - keep the old, original material as you never know when you may need it. You can off-load the files onto a separate hard drive if you don't want them cluttering up your work space.

Thanks mlesemann! That seems smart and matches my sensibilities as a software developer (we save every version of every file).

I'm also wondering if anyone reading can clue me in to what is considered best practice by professional editors?

It depends. In some regards it doesn't matter either way and in others, it very much matters. It all depends on your situation, the workflow, the tools you're using, who you're working with and where you are in your project.

Myself personally, I prefer unaltered files, filenames & file structures.

I'd hazard a guess that in your situation, it won't matter.