• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Changing Sound Kit in Middle of Shooting

Quick question...

I was wondering if I were to change sound kits, between takes, would it cause noticeable issues in quality?

Why I am asking, is I don't have enough money for a shotgun mic, boom pole, and sound recorder, but my college has them that I can take on loan. I figured at a later date, I would purchase my own set. If I started shooting with the school's sound kit, would I notice any changes in sound if I switched to a different kit?

Yes and no;

If you're switching from using, say, a condenser mic to a shotgun mic (or a lav) then you can tell the difference between the raw audio.

That being said, I mix and match between the different types of mics depending on the situation...
So whilst you can quite easily tell the difference between a lav and a shotgun on a quiet set, you can generally fix any glaring differences in post.

I wouldn't worry too much about it.

Somewhat contrary to the previous post...

It's all going to depend upon your situation. If you have no choice, you're stuck.

If you're only a quarter of the way through your shoot it's not going to matter too much, but again, it's very situational. If you've been shooting in one room with a cardioid or lavs and then shoot more scenes in the same room with a shotgun it's going to sound inconsistent. Some very good dialog editing can possibly mitigate it if you go from the cardioid to a shotgun (or the reverse) or if you've gone to great lengths to suppress the ambient bounce; a lot will then depend upon the skill of your boom-op. Changing from lavs to a boomed mic will be a glaring difference.