Camera basic info needed.

I am going to shoot a film in Sept. I've been a professional photographer for 30 years and am a Nikon customer. I've got a couple of lenses that I have loved, and I am a manual everything photographer. I always have read Canon puts a beating on Nikon Digital, then in my info gathering I read about Black Magic. Question is, I've got mic, tascam, tripods, lights, location, set, props, so which camera for a 1 act full length, no special effects, all inside film with a $5k to spend?

Vows - what's your distribution channel? If you're shooting for theatrical projection, you want to record at 2K resolution or greater. Wth a $5K budget, there's pretty much only one camera in your price range that will work with your lenses - the soon-to-ship $3K BlackMagic Cinema Camera with a micro 4/3 mount and a high quality Voigtlander Nikon to micro 4/3 adapter for $179.

With the remaining $2K, you can get the batteries, Solid State Drives, rails, matte box, etc. that you will need to turn the BMCC into a production camera.

If your distribution channel is the web, all you need is 1080p. In that case, I recommend a $1298 Panasonic GH3 with the Voigtlander adapter for your Nikon glass - or, if you want to use the camera for still photography in your day job after the film is finished, you might want to consider a Nikon D800 and an anti-aliasing filter to minimize its moire problem.

Hope this is helpful, good luck with your project and best of the holidays,

Bill

Even for theatrical projection, you don't need 2k and could easily get away with 1080 straight out of a GH3.

A D800 would also be good, especially with an external recorder.

I would like to submit my film to festivals. I don't need the camera until april, will Black Magic figure things out, and would nikon and others keep improving? As tech. changes almost daily.
Thanks