Best option for editing 550D footage in Windows?

If you're married to Windows Vista, I don't believe you'll be able to edit the footage natively (or perhaps you can, but it's a bad idea). You'll want to pick up Cineform Neoscene. It converts your footage to a format that your software can handle. Neoscene can be edited in any of the major editing suites, so it's your preference at that point.

You'll need LOTS of hard drive space.

Do you mean editing software? Premiere Pro is very popular for editing DSLR footage because if you have a decent computer you won't need to convert any footage before you start editing, but I don't think it's such a big deal if you're not on a tight schedule. Sony Vegas seems to be popular with quite a few people, but I've never used it before.

Thanks, Cracker Funk. I'm not married to Vista; it's just what I have and I can't afford to update to Windows 7 at the moment...

On the topic of affordability... Cineform Neoscene. $129. Is there any sort of free alternative to this?

Chillpie - Yes, I mean editing software and any other programs necessary to get the camera's footage editable in said software. So you're saying that Premiere Pro doesn't require any sort of conversion?

Chillpie - Yes, I mean editing software and any other programs necessary to get the camera's footage editable in said software. So you're saying that Premiere Pro doesn't require any sort of conversion?

I don't believe it's all versions of Premiere, but I don't know when this started. I could be wrong, but I think it's only CS5?