• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Best green screen content ?

Hello there,

So I have been a digital artist for years now (2D), and I've always gravitated towards cinematic story-telling tones in my imagery, I'm also a classical pianist so I deeply enjoy music (especially film scores). Soo, after I was nearly killed in a car crash a few weeks ago, I've decided that life is too short, and that I'm going to embark on a new art form that combines all of my passions, and I'm jumping in feet first.

With that being said, I'm currently writing a screen play that has a Blade Runner / Drive feel that I'm planning to shoot on a Black Magic Cinema Camera. While writing it, I want to get a feel for what my limitations will be with sets.

A static background shouldn't be too hard for me to create, however I'd be excited to be able to add moving elements (such as a future night city back drop). I'm thinking blender would be a good choice ? But with that avenue, how much am I biting off with a task like that? I have plenty of illustration 2D experience, but none in 3D.

The other option would be stock footage if the Blender route would be far too laborious, but I strongly dislike the idea of anything in the film being pulled from stock.

Could I get away with static backgrounds for a Drive / Blade Runner (shot in 2.39:1) or am I better off investing the time into doing some really detailed renders?

I'll presume you know chroma key stuff from your 2D art.

You could go with a combination of both. Static background with elements that move to give it move life. I believe this is what they did with Dark City... Well I think that is what the movie was called.