Best Conversion Software For .VOB

Hi,

1) I'm looking for software, free or paid for, that will allow me to convert .VOB files (along with the .BUP) into one readable AVI/MPG/MPEG file without any loss of video data. I want the maximum results, the same as I recorded it onto .VOB, in the end result.

I want to use the files in Adobe AF and Sony Vegas Pro, as they seem to hate .VOB files.

2) Also, what extension would be the best extension to convert to in order to get the best results? (there are loads like AVI, MPEG, MPG etc.)

Thanks.

I've been playing around with Super (free) and it works just fine, but the problem is, it gives you aspect ratio's to convert to and the max it has is 16:9 when sometimes the image is longer like 1:85 so it looks stretched.

Anyone here use Super? If so, can you tell me how to get addition aspect ratio's?

Thanks!

I'm no expert or computer-guru, but as I understand it, a .VOB file is actually pretty much the same darned thing as an MPEG. You don't need to convert it. You just need to rename it.

I very recently was sent some .VOB footage to edit, and I also was using Sony Vegas. I followed this guy's advice, and it worked like a charm:

http://www.ehow.com/how_4910485_convert-vob-mpeg.html

EDIT: The instructions in this link are completely different than when I originally posted this (it originally only called for re-naming the file).

Last edited:
Adobe Premiere Pro CS4.2 and CS5 can natively edit or export .VOB files from a VIDEO-TS folder for a DVD...

It was my understanding Sony Vegas has been able to "rip" a DVD for years with a button in there somewhere.

Thanks guys, I've been messing around with SUPER and its not to bad but I do have a problem. When I record in 16:9 the playback is always 4:3 ... Is there anyway else to fix this apart from setting the player to view in 16:9 or setting the T.V's ratio?