Best amateur setup for $1000

I joined here in interest of getting into film making, obviously ;) That being said I'm a photographer and my D90 will not cut it when it comes to video. So with a little bit of research I have compiled a solid setup for me to learn on.

550D/T2i $600 used (Green Lantern firmware)
Nikon-Canon mount adapter So I can use my Nikon glass like my 50mm f/1.8D
Rode VideoMic
Shape WLB Paparazzi

Would this be a solid setup? Any comments or criticisms?

Thank you :)

~B~

Last edited:
Personally I wouldn't pay 130 dollars for that Shape video handle thing you posted. My girlfriend purchased me a much cheaper version for x-mas made out of SOLID plastic. It's called a Opteka X Grip.

I'd purchase a handheld steady cam for 130 dollars way before a video handle device.

Decent enough.

The one thing I would say is that with DSLR you're going to want to record audio external probably with a cheap(ish) external audio recorder and a shotgun mic on a boom pole (rather than the VideoMic). Zoom H4N and Rode NTG2 is what I have and this seems to be a popular combo.

Personally I wouldn't pay 130 dollars for that Shape video handle thing you posted. My girlfriend purchased me a much cheaper version for x-mas made out of SOLID plastic. It's called a Opteka X Grip.

I'd purchase a handheld steady cam for 130 dollars way before a video handle device.

I'll keep that in mind. Thank you :)

Decent enough.

The one thing I would say is that with DSLR you're going to want to record audio external probably with a cheap(ish) external audio recorder and a shotgun mic on a boom pole (rather than the VideoMic). Zoom H4N and Rode NTG2 is what I have and this seems to be a popular combo.

Why is it that I would want to externally record my audio? Is the quality that low?

Hey Alcove,

I'm curious of the reason why you mention the Tascam over the H4N? Is it because of a personal preference or quality?