Beginner, what camera/lenses software etc

I am a beginner as in, I've never done anything like this. I am medium-tech savvy though.

In terms of type of movies, I loved Primer (2004), and those types of movies, I would love to make short movies on a youtube channel. (Non-commercial) and was wondering what you guys thought.

CAMERA:
- What high end camera is the best for it's price? And what lenses and other gear will be needed?

Would 5D Mark III with some lenses be enough?

Where can I learn about filming? I watch a lot of videos and wondering if there is an online video course I can take to learn more.

What softwares?

Is Premiere, Photoshop and After effects enough for special effects? I really love the idea of a movie including a lot of teleporting, sort of like in Jumper, wondering if I will need a 3D Software such as Nuke - The Foundry.

I have all summer, give me something new to learn!

I am a beginner as in, I've never done anything like this. I am medium-tech savvy though.

CAMERA:
- What high end camera is the best for it's price? And what lenses and other gear will be needed?
Would 5D Mark III with some lenses be enough?
A 5d3 is fine for most things, although focus pulling is more difficult on the larger sensors. You can get by with inexpensive vintage lenses, especially old nikon lenses with adapters.

Where can I learn about filming? I watch a lot of videos and wondering if there is an online video course I can take to learn more.
This should be your first concern, long before you jump into buying gear.

Learn first. Use something really cheap that can record... even a point and shoot with a 2x4 fashioned into a grip would work fine. Buy real gear much later.

Last edited:
Learn first. Use something really cheap that can record... even a point and shoot with a 2x4 fashioned into a grip would work fine. Buy real gear much later.