Aussie Indie Feature Film from Grassroots Up!

Hi Guys,

I'm new to this forum but most likely will be in here for the long haul! I'm an independant screenwriter and producer from Oz. But enough about introductions...I'm really here to talk about my approach to independant film and how you can find out more or get involved in this film yourself by receiving the newsletter I'll be putting together every two months as a way of building up a strong network from grassroots activities.

You can sign up for the newsletter here

One example would be how we have approached the casting for the film teaser. We plan to shoot a 2.5 minute teaser to assist in further government and private financing for the film. But we needed two actors of specific requirements (one approx 17 female and one 50-60 male). No money for casting agents? No problem!

1. Draw up a professional casting brief which includes Film Synopsis, Character Breakdowns, Actor Requirements, What to bring, Casting Times and Location, Map to Venue,

2. Send this casting brief to:
- Online casting websites (In Australia this includes AT2, ecaster, daretoaudition, starnow)
- Actors agents (a full list of their emails can be obtained from the MEAA union website)
- Highschool drama teachers (there are plenty of talented actors who don't have agents - get onto the department of education website and find all the schools in your region)
- Football clubs in the region (this film is about Aussie rules footy, so getting the word out to clubs has provided us with some great talent who know about footy)
- Myspace (via marketing programs)