Audio Newbie Sound Help!!! please

Hi, this past month I have been going crazy on what audio stuff I should buy for my camera. I am currently using a Nikon D5000 (I know its rubbish) until I get my new camera (Canon EOS 60D or 7D). I know I can't use a Rode VideoMic Pro direct for the Nikon D5000 cam as it has no headphone jack to plug it directly into. Could I use an external recorder such as a Tascam dr-40 and plug a Rode VideoMic pro straight into the Tascam for better audio to use with my D5000? Or would I require anything extra like cables for both of them to work together? I have seen people use a Rode VideoMic plugged into a Zoom H1 all over YouTube, but never any other combo's. Plus is the Tascam dr-40 good enough to use to capture audio without the Rode VideoMic Pro?

I am very very new to audio (as you can tell) and I am only picking up on what I read online so any help you can give will be amazing and everything will taken on board. If you have any suggestions on what I should use then please feel free. I need something for recording street singing, Poets and up and coming lyricists around London. All performances will be done on the spot so I won’t be recording from speakers or anything. Everything I will be doing is LIVE and of artists on the street. I would only be around 3-5 feet max away, maybe even less.

Could you please please help me and tell me what my best bet would be

Basically what I am asking is…what would you do to monitor your sound without it going into the camera? enough so I get a decent sound.

thank you

Yes, you can use a cheap recorder like the H1, DR-08, PR-10, etc. They will all work with the 3.5mm minipin of the VideoMic and you can monitor with headphones. The DR-40 at least will take low impedance (XLR) mics so you at least have a little upward compatability.