• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Artist trying hand at screenwriting

Hello all,

I'm a professional artist (traditional oil painter) and am thinking of trying out filmmaking. I have an idea for a 10-15 minute short film that I recently wrote.

The idea is a faith-based one. If you're not interested in that topic then you can just ignore this.

I'm curious for some feedback. I have no objective way of judging whether my writing is good or bad. If I'm terrible then I'll just stick with painting! I already make a living at that and am quite fine with it. I've just had a lot of ideas recently that I thought I could best express as films rather than paintings.

Let me know your honest opinions. Thanks

Link: https://www.celtx.com/auth/public/resource/y3b0uly9

The idea is a faith-based one. If you're not interested in that topic then you can just ignore this.

FYI - there's a HUGE market for that. If my heathen films don't go anywhere, I'll likely eventually make Christian Films.

I'm curious for some feedback. I have no objective way of judging whether my writing is good or bad. If I'm terrible then I'll just stick with painting! I already make a living at that and am quite fine with it. I've just had a lot of ideas recently that I thought I could best express as films rather than paintings.

Were you a good painter the very first time you picked up a brush? No, of course not. Any art/craft takes a huge time commitment and filmmaking is no different. You should expect to be dissatisfied with your films for years to come. But keep working at it, and you'll improve.

So, is this script one that you plan to produce and/or direct? I wouldn't recommend that. The amount of work and time that goes into making a film of this length is astounding, and this script you wrote would require a lot of personnel and resources - things that most first-time filmmakers don't have access to.