another, which camera for budget question

Alright, I know there are a million threads around here on this so here's the deal.
I'm a photographer and this has nothing to do with me. However, my cousin shoots the usual thriller and zombie type flicks and asked me to research this for him. I know he has sound recording equipment and editing programs, no idea on the details.
What I do know is this;
His budget for a new video camera is around $1500 for new or used.
He wants to be able to shoot in high def, 24p, and have as much manual control as possible, but he does NOT want to go the dslr route.
I know there are older "semi-pro" cameras in that price range but they are ancient technology. not that great film can't be made with them, but most don't have high def recording options.
So, what are some decent options? I know everything has it's ups and downs but I have 0 knowledge and unless you spend a lot of time on the subject there is only so much you can learn on the internet.
Thanks for any help!

Start digging:
http://www.google.com/search?q=24p+...&ei=egeWToOLK8ObtweV74nlBw&sqi=2&ved=0CGsQrQQ

I hear a lot of clucking over the Canon HV20
http://www.ebay.com/ctg/Canon-Vixia..._sticky=1&_trksid=p5360.c0.m299&_sop=16&_sc=1

Frankly, I think that friend needs to put on his big boy panties, bite the bullet and go the GH2 route with audio gear.
http://www.google.com/search?q=24p+....,cf.osb&fp=4eee4599f966a33d&biw=1280&bih=933

BTW, I've been wondering, since the camcorders of assorted high prices include XLR jacks what is even the point if it's just gonna sound par, or worse?
Why would you need a >$2k field camera with XLR jacks?
Doesn't everyone above the threshold of handycam-world need external audio, anyway?

Last edited:
BTW, I've been wondering, since the camcorders of assorted high prices include XLR jacks what is even the point if it's just gonna sound par, or worse?
Why would you need a >$2k field camera with XLR jacks?