Advice for a DSLR virgin?

Hello,

I'm in the market for my first DSRL purchase. I'm looking for something in the $1000.00 range including a workhorse "starter" lens. I've been researching on my own here and there for a couple months and it seems like the more I read, the less sure I am. Lately, I've been looking at the Canon 7D. But I'm wondering what the top performing cameras are at my price point (or below). What are the main criteria, the absolute most important factors, regarding how a camera performs in a video capacity? I've been concerned with low light performance, and moire mainly. But again, the more I read, the less sure I feel about taking the plunge. Any advice would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Hello,

I'm in the market for my first DSRL purchase. I'm looking for something in the $1000.00 range including a workhorse "starter" lens. I've been researching on my own here and there for a couple months and it seems like the more I read, the less sure I am. Lately, I've been looking at the Canon 7D. But I'm wondering what the top performing cameras are at my price point (or below). What are the main criteria, the absolute most important factors, regarding how a camera performs in a video capacity? I've been concerned with low light performance, and moire mainly. But again, the more I read, the less sure I feel about taking the plunge. Any advice would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Hi RM - welcome to the forum. If you're concerned at all with moire, I recommend against the 7D (or any of the low cost Canons or Sonys).

The most moire-resistant cameras at or below $1000 will be the $750 (w kit lens) Panasonic G6 and $797 (w kit lens) Nikon D5200 (or the discontinued Panasonic GH2, if you can find one).

Here is what the G6 can do: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l9Z1Dv7t-oI

Here is what the D5200 can do in a low light shootout with the $3300 Canon 5D Mark III: http://vimeo.com/60135187