• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Act Two

I'd like to hear how everyone goes about writing a good Act 2...

What techniques do you use?
How do you summon your creativity for the middle of the story?
How do you go about re-writing it?

Are there any good books or online references specifically for writing the middle of the story?

For me, I find Act I and Act III (or III and IV for that matter) to be my natural strength when it comes to creativity and instinct. I find it much tougher to write a good Act II, as it requires a lot more "grunt" work I like to call it.

I'd like to hear all of your thoughts.

Personally, I think of act 2 as being the equivalent of 2 distinct acts, both of roughly equal length, so instead of having say, a 30 page act 1, 60 page act 2, and a 30 page act 3, my screenplays have 4 acts of roughly equal lengths. I've been using this approach for many years now and it's really made a huge difference in my writing - act 2 troubles are never an issue now.

I would recommend you check out "Storytelling in the New Hollywood" by Kristin Thompson (she espouses the 4 act theory).

Good luck!

Act 2(for me):

• where the actions picks up
  • all the characters have been introduced in act 1, you build their personalities now
  • the tension starts building
  • introduce the confrontations/conflicts
  • clearly define/show the main characters arc
  • subplots

"The Everything Screenwriting Book" is pretty good at breaking down the acts. Also using the 1-3-5 method has helped me quite a bit.
I try to setup a twist in the second act that will unfold in the third. It helps to have the ending and then work backwards from there. Theres usually something in the story that lends itself to the break between acts.

Good luck!

Last edited:
Hey guys, thanks for your responses.