• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

A few screenwriting questions...

I am just getting into screenwriting and was wondering on a few things,,

If I write somthing and want others to look at it for feedback or error checks is it a good idea to post it on here or any forum as somone may copy it or somthing?

Is it a bad idea to write somthing sci-fi , somthing that you dont have the funds to make but would love to write it?

Do people doctor scripts for free? (maybe a stupid questions)

How would one go about sending it to somone, who and where?, im in the UK.

Some bold questions but just wondering.

cheers.

I am just getting into screenwriting and was wondering on a few things,,

If I write somthing and want others to look at it for feedback or error checks is it a good idea to post it on here or any forum as somone may copy it or somthing?

If you do, you may want to get it copyrighted and/or registered with the (in your case) WGA-E before you unveil it before the public. If you really want feedback/ proofreading bring it to a trusted English teacher or a close friend or family member who's good with grammar.

Is it a bad idea to write somthing sci-fi , somthing that you dont have the funds to make but would love to write it?

Not at all. A high concept like that might be great to use a a spec script to pass around. It's only if you plan on directing and financing it yourself, then money may be problem.

Do people doctor scripts for free? (maybe a stupid questions)

The only stupid question is one not asked. I don't know of anyone who doctors scripts for free, personally. Though, granted, I've never looked into it.

How would one go about sending it to somone, who and where?, im in the UK.

If it's low budget enough for a small indy producer to make, I would ask around there in the UK and network with them, pitching your script.