• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

5.1 mixing

I've never done it before, so I need some help, but does this make any sense?

I edited the film in Premiere and it's going to be presented at a theatre next month, so I want to create a 5.1 mix.

Voice goes 100% in the centre channel, right?

But what about the soundtrack?

Does it make any sense placing each of the instruments of the soundtrack as I did in the picture above? I have them all using 0% of the crentre channel.

I'm definitely not an expert in mixing for 5.1 but it seems very strange to me that you're mixing the music outside of actual music production software. Would it not be better to mix the music in a 5.1 environment INSIDE the project you created the music?

I expect you'll create some odd phase issues and will not be able to predict how the volume will be affected over all.

Thanks. I hadn't thought about the possibility of creating those phase problems.

Each instrument is in stereo format and I created the music using the synthesizer's sequencer. I then recorded each track to a separate file so I could have more flexibility in controlling the volume, panning and EQ of each instrument. Things like reverb already came out right off the synth. It turned out that 90% of the adjustments were made on the piano track.

I also have some instruments associated with characters (and themes), so I animate the panning of each of those instruments according to the position of the character on screen.

I didn't feel the need to go to through another audio software, because I was just thinking about stereo sound, 5.1 was an afterthought.

I'm going to create different versions with different sounds and ask them if I can watch the film at the theatre before the exhibition.

But I am going to follow your advise and create a 5.1 file with just the soundtrack.

Here's the soundtrack BTW: https://soundcloud.com/guerra-das-conchas/cap-1-soundtrack

Last edited: