Help: Do Actors need worker compensation?

Hi all
I'm preparing my first feature with a sub-zero budget (well yes, meaning that there is not one dollar left after buying and renting gears). I'm new in America and a bit a lost with the rules in NYC. I need your help!

I tried hard to do things right so I created a LLC and got nice contracts with deferred pay agreement drafted by and entertainment layer for my cast and crew. I have all my crew and cast ready (we're presumed to shoot in 2 weeks) and I was about to send them their contracts when I read that as a production company I should give to each 'worker's compensation' and get them on payroll (only the word scare me :(). Presumably I have to do that also with the crew. Is that true???

If I really need to go as far as payroll and co I might have to cancel the whole project.

I've read that some of you are just shooting no matter what without LLC, contracts or else is that legal?

My actors and crew are ready to be in the prod for free so the deferred pay is not a lie or a carrot (as I saw it written in some post) it's a plan saying what will happen IF the money comes one day.

So should I go with the contracts and without he worker compensation or burn the whole thing and go full guerilla way?

PLEASE PLEASE HELP ME.

is that legal?

For legal advice you should consult a qualified attorney. All you'll get here are opinions.

...and in my opinion, you should be fine if you have agreements with all the cast & crew spelling out what they are being paid... ie: the deferred pay.

Why did your entertainment attorney not take care of this?

I'll repeat what zensteve said, you need a lawyer to answer this legal question.
In my opinion, you don't need to put cast an crew on payroll. However, since
you have contracts with a deferred pay agreement drafted by and entertainment
lawyer then that lawyer would be the person to ask.

For clarity: "deferred" pay is a legal term meaning the cast and crew will be paid;