• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Why "royalty free" matters?

So.... long time lurker, first time posting here.

In the sense of full disclosure, I'm a professional composer and audio engineer. I own a post-production studio and I also partner in a "rights managed" production music library. http://soundslikejoe.com (me) http://tunedogs.com (stock)

Aside from these links to introduce myself.... I'm not here to promote. I'm more interested in learning what you think... I could ask a lot of questions upfront, but I'll just start with one.... Why do video producers gravitate to the term "royalty-free" as being a guiding factor in choosing music to license?

Because for us it means a free or one time fee. We don't have to keep track of the composer's/artist's "points" and send them a royalty check every quarter. Royalty free is easier to manage. We pay you once, you give us a license. Done deal.

I guess this is part of the conversation I hoped to have..... There seem to be lots of misconceptions about RFM and licensing music. For instance.... The majority of all licensing agreements don't require the producer of the video to pay any composer "points" or additional payments of any kind. There are some cheaper deals that limit the terms to a certain length of time.... but even RF deals might have limits. A certain RM library for instance... their lowest price limits distribution and broadcast rights. If your film were picked-up, you'd have to go back and pay them more for expanded terms. So.... if that's your only concern, you shouldn't limit yourself to RF catalogs. However, you probably SHOULD look for "perpetuity terms".