• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

What do you think of this audio in post advice?

I realize it is oversimplified, but as advice to a total noob, how would you rate the following article? It is not not mine, I just saw it online...

http://vashivisuals.com/5-eq-audio-for-video-tips-for-filmmakers/

I am still trying to find someone who can do sound design, sound editing, foley/fx, dialogue fix-n-mix, and music for our 48hr-film-project July 25-27, 2014... and I am having very little luck finding someone locally (so I am trying to learn as much as I can just in case).

Having been involved in numerous 48hr film projects, including as a judge one year... I can tell you that even though the advice in that article only covers a tiny fraction of the post audio knowledge base, just those few tips would be likely to get you better final audio than a lot of your competition... assuming the source audio isn't total garbage.

For production sound, I don't yet have any lavs, but I have a sounddevices 702, a sennheiser MKH 50 hypercardiod mic for indoor shooting, and for outdoors I have a rode NTG-3 shotgun. I also have a 9′ boompole, a rode blimp with wombat cover, and a pair of sony MDR-7506 headphones. (Still gotta find someone who who knows how to swing a boom, though.)

Rather simplistic, but it serves as a place to start.