• READ BEFORE POSTING!
    • If posting a video, please post HERE, unless it is a video as part of an advertisement and then post it in this section.
    • If replying to threads please remember this is the Promotion area and the person posting may not be open to feedback.

watch Vitality (Part One) - Please Critique

Hi, I posted some time ago a trailer for this movie, Vitality.

I finally have edited part one of it, and want to see what you think of it.

All criticisms are welcome, and in my own opinion I don't think it's very good at all.

Criticisms I have received before and agreed with are the use of teenage actors exclusively, and too strong of color correction (within the trailer, which I changed however I understand may still be a problem). Also, the story is fairly weak, cliche, and has many problems with it. The acting is something I cannot change simply because of my pool of actors at the time.

Just wanted to share, and I am still a very new filmmaker, so once again thanks for it all.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KfdwQuf-GVg

The acting wasn't that bad. It is beyond cliche though, i dunno how many of these I've seen, as soon as the first words came up on screen I just sighed. Some of the camera work and cuts were pretty sketchy, the colour correction was pretty bad, I really don't know what you were trying to do with it.

But, you have put a project together, it is a learning experience, nobody expects noobs like us to rattle out oscar winning shorts. I make short films as a way of learning, I try to learn from mistakes and improve each time, so as long as you are aware of the faults then you can improve.

I would re-edit the whole thing, you can at least improve some of the cuts and colour correction. A lot of the bad things are things that are things you can easily improve upon.

Last edited:
Thanks for the input lastsunsetfilms, i understand where you're coming from completely.