Video quality problem (Sony NEX-VG900)

Hi ..

I have 2 cameras (sony nex vg900) with several lenses..

But i think this is not a normal quality for a 3000$ camcorder!

I tried many lenses, and many settings, but nothing changed!

Look at the buildings in the pictures!

image.jpg

123.jpg

what is the problem?

I have a Sony VG10 and spent years working out Sony foibles which most people on here will be blissfully oblivious to. I am a surgeon with this camera and so many elements around post (the AVCHD package causes a heap of issues).

4 questions:

1. What settings were you using for the shots? Please include words like 'autofocus,' 'sharpness,' and whether you were using one of Sony's stock profiles.
2. What hardware were you using? Lighting, cards, lenses etc...
3. What stabilisation?
4. What is your workflow?

This does look plenty horrendous for what you say is a $3000 camcorder. But camcorders, I've found, have always been lower quality than DSLRs or comparable cameras, likely in order to expand the record time so that it can practically record indefinitely: which is the main benefit of camcorders. DSLRs, on the other hand, will shut off or stop recording after a certain amount of time, or once your memory card runs out, and that's usually within an hour.

From what I can tell, this could be an issue with your lens since it's so muddy. But I almost feel like this should look way better than this no matter what lens you use.

Last edited:
I have a Sony VG10 and spent years working out Sony foibles which most people on here will be blissfully oblivious to. I am a surgeon with this camera and so many elements around post (the AVCHD package causes a heap of issues).

4 questions:

1. What settings were you using for the shots? Please include words like 'autofocus,' 'sharpness,' and whether you were using one of Sony's stock profiles.
3. What stabilisation?

Hi sir, thanks for sharing your experience :)