• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Tips, how to film someone in wardrobe?

Hey everyone,
I'm studying film in the second semester and I'm working on my first short film. I have one problem: For several scenes the main character is sitting in his wardrobe/closet as this is the space where he hides if he has a problem (explained in the film.) My problem now is, I don't know which way would be the best to film that?

As this is a no-budget production I can't build a big wooden box and leave a side open or cut a sidepanel out of a wardrobe or something. Theoretically I could let my cameraman stand squeezed into the corner of the wardrobe and the main character sit in the front, but it'd be fairly uncomfortable. Also, what kind of light should I use in the closet? I was considering him to just have a flashlight that is the only light source, that would be very bright though, whereas without any light at all it would be too dark. I have basic lighting equipment from the college available.
I was also thinking about just leaving the doors open and standing outside but I'm pretty sure it would make it fairly hard to film it as if the wardrobe was closed.

Has anyone got ideas which way would be the best to film someone sitting/hiding in his wardrobe, punching the inner wall etc? (plus an idea for the light?)

Thanks!

First of all, Welcome!