Time for a change?

I am a first year pre-med student and i'm doing well so far. However, over the years, my passion for making film has accumulated and now it's too much not to do anything about. I really want to start studying film and getting all the technical things down. I was wondering if there was anything i could do to get a good start in the world of film while still keeping my pre-med major.

I would tell the same to anyone - read books, visit websites, join local filmmaking clubs and organizations, network and make connections, study films, go to film festivals and watch and study the films, talk with the filmmakers, ask them questions about their movies, participate in filmmaking competitions, make little films to learn about the process. If you want to become a professional in the industry, as a filmmaker or anything else, sooner or later that has to become your devotion, not your hobby.

But try to make a film and see if its for you. Its a lot of hard work to make a good film, some people dont like how much work it is, but seeing as how you're in pre-med you might be up to the task.

most important in that process ( it's all important ), is to shoot films...make films that suck...lots of them, learn what doesn't work, learn what does work. You won't know what questions to ask until you run into problems on set.

thanks. I've been trying to do everything you've suggested. Are there any websites or books that you read that you found to be exceptionally helpful? I agree about film being more than a hobby, i'm sure it's my love, everything about it is enchanting.

"Directing: shot by shot" by steven katz is the one "must have" text for directors/camera folks. There's tons of others, but this is very complete as a technical where do I put the camera type of book...there's a sequel "Cinematic Motion".

The dummies and for idiots books are quite good...I personally hate the name as they are very negative and not supportive.