• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

the subject was iMacs....

Hey guys!

I've been editing on my Mac G4 laptop since 2005. I tricked it out when I got it because all the computers were turning over to Intel etc., but I couldn't affort the top of the line computer. But I did go in knowing that the last installment of The Godfather had been edited on 4 G4's so I was pretty confident in its capabilities. Plus, I researched it to know what it should have been able to do.

This computer has done well for me. It has complained and been tempermental, but usually I got out of it what I wanted. But I've been having issues editing HD footage. (I use FCP so I know its not the system.) More and more footage is HD. I would like to be able to edit it without my computer doing strange things.

I now am in a position to purchase a desktop iMac. Best Buy has an iMac for $1200. In the ad, it says:
Display: 21.5; 4GB Memory; 500GB Hard Drive; Mac OSX v10.6; Snow Leopard; Intel Core; i3 Processor...I don't really know what the Intel core or i3 Processor means. Wireless networking wireless keyboard and mouse.

Now, I have until next Saturday--the last day for the sale, to decide if I want this computer.

So, ladies and gentlement of IndieTalk. What do I do?

1. What should I be sure the computer has before I walk out of the door

2. What goodies should I consider, even if they are not necessary

3. Should the computer have dual processors....or something like that? Wasn't that what everyone was trying to get? Or was it dual hard drives :huh: I don't remember.

4. Should I get this computer?

I am not trying to necessarily trying to keep up with the technology because I know you can't really do that....unless something is about to come out really soon, like with my G4. The new computers were in the stores literally ONE MONTH after I got it, but I knew I couldn't afford those.