• READ BEFORE POSTING!
    • If posting a video, please post HERE, unless it is a video as part of an advertisement and then post it in this section.
    • If replying to threads please remember this is the Promotion area and the person posting may not be open to feedback.

watch Surviving the Wild

Although I grew up in suburbia, my family always spent a great deal of time in the outdoors. I have many fond memories of camping, backpacking, fishing, hiking, and bird hunting. My father was an Air Force pilot and passed on to my brother and I the skills he learned during survival training. By the time I was ten, I could start a fire with one match, catch and clean fish, and set up a camp.

When I graduated from high school in 2003, my dad took my brother and I on a backpacking trip in the St. Joe wilderness. For fun, I decided to bring my camera and film the trip, eventually cutting together a 30 minute documentary. I fell in love with filming in the outdoors. During my short film days, a lot of them were set in the mountains, as was my first feature.

In 2009, I was watching an episode of Survivorman and wondered if I could do something similar. What impressed me about Les Stroud is that he was out there completely alone with no camera crew. I decided to do my own version on an overnight backpack trip that fall. My pup and I set out with my Canon ZR 800 and showed some basic backpacking skills. The following spring, we did it again. I cut the two episodes together and wasn't quite happy with the result, so I never uploaded them to web, but I still had a lot of fun doing them.