style over substance

Style, moving toward substance.

Why: because substance comes with age and experience. Cultivating a style is an early path toward making substance palatable.

Just my opinion, though!

Too much style over subtance these days.

If i had to choose it would be substance over style. Why? Zack Snyder vs Michael Cimino. Cimino hands down.

But i always say, why cant we have both? Ppl have done it in the past, they still do (though less)

Well I'm just starting out but I would say that style comes with experience. Knowing how to work a camera and where to put it, is all part of style. Substance can be thought up in a story, where as style takes practice. Substance is more important though, so I choose to be that. But that's me.

Last edited:
Both desire time, and practice.

"Substance" is a tangible visual word. It exists. "Style" so it would seem, does not. Already we favour the former. But there's a meeting point, most will say "Style" is within every film-maker. It can't be learnt.

We're in a generation where everything is documented and analysed. "Style" has taken initiative. We now have movies labelled as"Eye-candy". Movies that brandish an often perculiar, or worldly aesthetic. Stunning, but no substance. I don't believe this. I think there's an incredulous amount of naivety in the statement. Those perturbed by the certain "lack of" are being blinded by the "Outlandish Style" they're so hoping to discredit.

So, for me, the lines are blurred. Inevitably, the two will be questioned if one appears more prominent than the other. But it's subjective. Massively.

Can both be learnt? I believe they can.

Would I prefer one over the other? No. I don't think it's possible.

If the Op is asking which one is PREFERENCE, then definitely substance, or at least in equal portions.