Song -> Film screenplay rights?

Hello guys, I am a student of film directing and I have to do an exercise which is to direct a short film (and write a screenplay for it).

I always loved a song from some band and I thought it has a great potential to be made into short film.
What I want to do is film my own interpretation of this song and also use some lines from the lyrics in the screenplay. Do I have to ask the writer of the song for permission to create this film? I am filming this just for the exercise and to show it to my mentor, not publicly (except college vimeo page). I won't be sending it to festivals, since I have no rights from the writer of the song. I have absolutely no intention to earn any money from this film. I am just a huge fan of band & song and want to create my interpretation of song for college means. Of course, the song writer and band would have all the credits and in the end it would also say that the story is inspired by this song.

Do I still need the rights from the song writer to film this?

Hello guys, I am a student of film directing and I have to do an exercise which is to direct a short film (and write a screenplay for it).

I always loved a song from some band and I thought it has a great potential to be made into short film.
What I want to do is film my own interpretation of this song and also use some lines from the lyrics in the screenplay. Do I have to ask the writer of the song for permission to create this film? I am filming this just for the exercise and to show it to my mentor, not publicly (except college vimeo page). I won't be sending it to festivals, since I have no rights from the writer of the song. I have absolutely no intention to earn any money from this film. I am just a huge fan of band & song and want to create my interpretation of song for college means. Of course, the song writer and band would have all the credits and in the end it would also say that the story is inspired by this song.