• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

plot Script Idea: Black and white, universal monster movie interpretation of The Danse Macabre

I've been kicking around this idea for a few months now and have even tried to start writing a rough draft for it. However I'm not necessarily an amazing writer and have a hard time conveying my thoughts. However, I can give a simple overview of the plot. Any critiques, questions, or other comments are all welcome. I'm still pretty new to this.

The Film, with a working title of The Dirt, is set in an unspecified year but roughly in the late 1800's. It follows Ezekiel a cemetery inspector for the state of Massachusetts, who has attempted suicide three times. Each time has failed and after the third time, he thinks he's getting better. However after being sent on a job in the town of Innocence Massachusetts he comes face to face with a force of nature that compels people to return, and force others, to The Dirt.

I have a lot more of the story fleshed out but I'm also new to forum posting and I'm not too sure what counts as too long of a post and a multitude of other uncertainties. If anyone would like to hear more, like I said feel free to sound off.

:shocked: Given how hard it was just to stay alive in 1800s - average life expectancy less than 40 years - I'd be looking for a really good explanation of how/why Ezekiel failed in his three attempts!
If anyone would like to hear more, like I said feel free to sound off

You asked for it!

I agree with CelticRambler; I'm sure that you could find another way to make your character despondent.

If your character is "familiar with death," perhaps you could make your protagonist a Civil War veteran with PTSD (although the didn't have diagnoses like that back in the 1800s), or having suffered some other psychological trauma. Death was always around you before the mid-20th century.

A simple cut could become infected and kill you.