Recommendations for Camera and Lens

So I am relatively new to this trade, but I would like to get a camera, lens, and tripod for something hopefully under $1000 (if it goes a little over that, it's fine). I have already been recommended to start out with the Canon Rebel t3i. Another friend of mine was using a Canon EOS 7D (a little over my budget) and is now using a Canon EOS C100 (way beyond my budget). That same friend is using three lenses with the C100: an 18-135mm standard zoom, a 24mm Rokinon, and a 50mm Zeiss. I was wondering what you guys would recommend? :huh:

What I am looking for is something that can film 24 fps (which I assume is most digital cameras), black and white of a quality that comes close to film stock with rich, wide contrast range. The films I will be making will be short films, predominantly silent and filmed outside (so hopefully a camera that can stand weather conditions, mainly from the desert and mountainous regions with snow). Anyway I apologize if this post sounds more newbish than it should, but as mentioned before I am relatively new to this trade. :)

If you can wait until it is released on June 21st, I recommend you get the $749 Panasonic G6. It shoots 24fps and 60fps for slow motion and smooth fast action. It also has a viewfinder that works while shooting video and built-in wi-fi for monitoring, remote control or sending your images to your phone or tablet. These are features that no Canon DSLR will have.

Here is how the camera handles a behind-the-scenes shoot. Everything after 1:45 was shot with the G6 (the camera hired for the shoot was the $1298 Panasonic GH3, the G6's big brother (this is the camera I have) - please watch at 1080p):

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l9Z1Dv7t-oI

Note the B&W segments starting at 3:23, 4:07 and 5:33

The camera also does fabulous color - see this Panasonic promo (again, please watch at 1080p):

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3oijsASQQ6k