• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Questions on Color Grading Options/Monitors

Hi all, I'm hoping somebody on this thread can help me make a decision about my color grading options.

I am an independent filmmaker trying to take my editing skills to the next level. I have just recently learned the importance of having a properly calibrated monitor for color grading purposes. With that being said I am now in the market for affordable color correction options. Unfortunately I am not able to dish out $3000+ for a pro color grading monitor. But from the research I have done it seems that there are some affordable options that are "good enough" to get the job done.

I am currently editing on a 27" 5k Retina display imac and the footage I edit is either 1080p or 4K. I am looking for a second reference monitor or even to be able to just work with what I have if possible.

Below are some questions.

Am I better off just calibrating my 5k iMac with a pro calibrating tool like the spyder or x-rite i1, or should I be looking to get another monitor and calibrating that monitor instead?

If I get a secondary monitor could anybody tell me if these are indeed solid options https://davidtorcivia.com/spring-2016-entry-level-monitors-roundup/ and perhaps one that you would most recommend?

Also this might seem kind of a dumb question but in order to properly color correct 4K footage will I need just a 4K reference monitor as well or are there other variables to consider?

Thanks for taking the time to read my post. Looking forward to seeing some of your answers.

-Andrew

Getting another computer monitor is not necessarily better than using what you already have, especially considering the quality of the screen on a 5k Retina iMac. In fact, by opting for a cheap computer monitor, you're probably going to get a worse quality image than if you just used the iMac.