Question about buying a new camera

I'm thinking about buying a Nikon D3200 and was wondering if this is a good decision. It's on the higher end of my budget and it will be my first DSLR because I'm a beginner. I will use it both for photography and video.

My question is if there is a better alternative to this camera for video for about the same price or would this be a good buy for me.

If you need a link to this camera:

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Nikon+-...s_kwcid=PTC!pe!nikon d3200!e!0!g!!15098826159

If you are not already invested in glass (lenses), the 3200 is a good choice. You might find more selection available with a Canon body, but there is plenty of good Nikkor glass out there, just be prepared to (eventually) pay well for it.

Thank you!

Do Nikon lenses not work on Canon cameras and vice-versa? I have several friends that would probably lend lenses to me if I needed them but I think they're all Canon.

And I was planning on getting a separate mic (would a shotgun be a good choice?) and a boom for it.

Different manufacturers use different mounts for their lenses. Many manufacturers have multiple mount types (EF vs EF-S vs FD etc.). Some cameras, like the current crop sensor Canons, can use lenses of more than one mount type (EF & EF-S). Adapters are available for some systems.

I was planning on getting a separate mic (would a shotgun be a good choice?) and a boom for it.

You also will need an audio recorder.

The choice of mic will depend upon two things - the location and the skill of the person swinging the boom.

Shotguns are the standard; however, since most indie productions shoot in "real" indoor locations as opposed to large, controlled sets, and the boom-op will probably not be very skilled, a hypercardioid mic is highly recommended for indoor shooting. Hypers are more forgiving and will yield a little less of that hollow, roomy sound so prevalent in indie productions.