• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Plot Twists

hey, i'm a newbie here and have recently started writing my first screenplay with a friend of mine. For the screenplay we are working on, we want to keep our audience one step behind us up until we reveal our plot twist. Now my question is, does anyone have any tips on writing plot twists? If anyone has tried their hands at one and discovered any helpful hints. Thanks in advance and congrats on the site, its very informative

Becaue you havnt given specifics, neither can I. No that I want to write your script for you.

-foreshadow the twist so you dont cheat the audience. give several subtle clues or hints without actully making it predictable - not easy at all(million ways to do this, but it is a balancing act)

-make sure everything is integrated. otherwise may seem contrived.

-scripts success shouldnt rely solely on tiwst. otherwise its just a gimmick. script should be successful even without twist.

-twist better be logical and not as the result of amazing coincidence.

-twist should be original, lots of "twists" out there (seems to be very popular these days, everyone wants their script to have twist, plenty of great stories do not, not that twists are bad - Im just sayin)

-rarely do people react to a twist the way you want, like "oh my god thats BRILLIANT" it happens rarely. sure theres some recent movies, but theyre the exception - keep that in mind. If people detect that your trying to manipulate them, theyll turn against you.

Once you write it and ask people to read it, dont mention at all that there is a twist. otherwise theyll look for it.

Check out this book from your local library. Or buy it. I got lucky and found it at a garage sale for $.50.

It gives a bunch of helpful tips about screenplay structure, foreshadowing, motifs, scene sequences, etc.