Need Advice On Using Mac For Editing

Used to do some editing about 10 years ago for local public TV, so not a total newbie but by no means a pro either. Going to start work of some video projects soon and I need to get a decent setup for editing. Money is definitely an issue right now--can't really afford to splurge on a new Mac Pro, etc. I'm using Adobe Creative Suite 5.5

Currently, I have a brand new Macbook air 13" with the new Haswell processor and SSD. It's pretty quick/snappy, but obviously the 13" screen makes it tough. It's doable, and great for editing in the field, but a bigger screen would be nice. I also have a friend who just gave me a lightly used 2008 20" Imac with 2gb ram, 300gb hd.

Here are my options as I see them:

1. Buy a used Cinema display for use with the MBA. A friend has a slightly used 27" Thunderbolt display he'd sell me for about $650.

2. Update the 20" Imac. For about $300 I can max out the ram at 6gb and put in a high speed 6g SSD from OWC. While the ram upgrade and SSD swap should make a huge difference, I'm still limited by the 2.66ghz core duo processor....

I realize that neither of these solutions are creating the ultimate editing machine, but, if you had to choose between the two options, which one would you go for?

Thanks!

NP

I'm guessing the air will be the better option, but it's hard to say. The real issue is the GPU - the airs use the intel integrated graphics chip which generally isn't vey high performance compared to a dedicated GPU. Running a cinema display on that may be pushing the gpu to the limit. On the other hand the iMac's GPU is dedicated but also 5 years old and not particularly powerful. It may be that there's no real advantage one way or another, in which case the faster/newer CPU of the air is probably the best bet.