Mixer Question

Alright, aside from my post in the welcome forum this is my first post here. In other words, I'm a complete newbie, so go easy on me... or not, really doesn't matter, I can take it. :)

Anyway, I'm (like many) on a limited budget. I'm planning on doing a few shorts this spring/summer, and one of the things I've read on here is "Sound is half the experience."

So with that being said, instead of pursuing video equipment with my budget, I'm going to go after audio equipment instead.

I already have a Tascam dr-07 mkiii field recorder (a purchase made for other purposes a little while ago).

Then as I started gearing up (before I found this forum) to start working my upcoming projects I bought a lav mic and a shotgun mic (both Audio Technica, but the model numbers escape me at the moment). Anyway, they both have 3.5mm connections. Looking back, I probably should have done more research and saved a little longer for some other mics, but that ship has already set sail.

I've come across some mixers like this one and I want to know if these will support my existing mics before I upgrade to better mics that use XLR inputs.

I'd like to be able to use something like this to connect my feeble mics and mix them and send (don't know the technical terms here, hopefully this makes sense) them to the Tascam.

I want to know if this is A) possible, and B) worth it.

Thoughts?

The Behringer is not a field recorder for film purposes; it's aimed at musicians.

You're right, you should have done A LOT more research before purchasing your audio gear. High impedance gear (Hi-Z) has many potential problems. I hate to be the one to break the news, but a hobbyist/consumer grade Hi-Z audio kit that will get decent audio is around $500. To get into Low-Z (Low Impedance) prosumer gear will set you back around $1k.

Get us the models of your mic and lav, and we'll see what we can do for you.