Mic Into Camera Incompatibility

Let me start off by saying I'm a total amateur just starting out, and my gear reflects that. Now that that's out of the way, none of you are allowed to snicker.

I have a Kodak Zi8, and though I got a Sony condenser mic to use instead of the built-in mic, I need a mic setup that allows me some distance from my camera. I have a lot of audio recording equipment and thought I would put some of it to use.

So I first took a regular vocal mic and hooked it up. I used a cable that's XLR on one end and 1/4" on the other, but my Kodak only has an 1/8" input. So I put the 1/4" cable end through an adapter and then plugged in the 1/8" into my camera.

So it should have worked, right? It didn't. Instead, I got a dull hum in my recording that I otherwise hadn't experienced. I even tested the cable and the mic on my recording equipment without the camera, and all worked fine. Then I plugged my adapter into some headphones into my computer, and that worked too.

Next I took my ten track mixer and plugged two mics into it, one being the same vocal mic I was using earlier, the other being a condenser mic that requires phantom power (the mixer has phantom). I ran a cable out of the mixer into my camera, doing the same thing with the adapter to make the 1/4" fit in my 1/8" input. The mixer turned on, I could hear the mics working through headphones, but when I recorded using my camera, I got the same dull hum and no mic activity at all.

My guess as to why this is happening would be because of the mics I'm using, though I thought I would bypass that problem by using my mixer. Can anyone enlighten me?

Yeah I was afraid of that.

So here is the camera, and I'm using this mic with this mixer. I'm running a cable out of the mixer into my camera, and the cable is 1/4" on both ends. Since my camera's mic input is 1/8" I'm using this adapter to connect the cable.