• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Managing sound

Hey there. I looked around for an apporpriate sub forum for this request and didn't really see one, so I hope it's okay to ask this.

My question is about managing sound. What is the best way to go about having a constant background sound so that it doesn't shift between edits. I'm very much a filmmaking and technical type n00b (I'm just a writer, ya know? ;) ), but I plan on starting production on a script I'm finishing up in about 6 months (shooting for a Feb/Mar start date). Some scenes will be outside, some will be inside. The one thing I see with a lot of amateur movies is how the background sound shifts from edit to edit, and the dialogue over the top of that makes it worse. How do I go about keeping a constant background "noise" to layer my dialogue over? Do I just record a sample of room noise and loop that over and over for the entire scene, and then separate the audio from the video (recording digitally), clean it up and sync it up in post? Do I do all ADR?

Just curious as to the process. I have a good friend helping me with most of the photography aspects of it (you all know him as knightly), but as a musician, the sound is gonna be very important to me. It's what I notice right away.

Any tips, links, etc. would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

James

It's called "Room Tone". For every location that you shoot you should have everybody be quiet for 30 seconds and just record silence. When you/or the editor sits down and edits, room tone will fill in the gaps and replace any unwanted sounds.