• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Lighting Question

Hi Guys,

I am new to filmmaking but have also wanted a career or at least an involvement in the industry as a hobby but my life took a different path and now I have decided to make a go of it.

I have aquired various equipment over the past months as seen below;

Canon 600d (T3i)
Canon 50mm f1.8 Prime Lens
Canon 18-55mm IS ii kit lens
Manfrotto 055XPROB Tripod legs
Manfrotto MVH502AH Fluid Head
Rode Video Mic Pro
Zoom H1 Recorder
2x Continous Lights (soft box) 5500k bulbs
PC with After Fx, Premier and Final Draft

I also have other miscellaneous stuff like a reflector, gaffer tape, white balance cards etc

I am throwing most of my study into storytelling and structure (reading story, substance, structure, style and the principles of screenwriting by Robert McKee currently) but I also wanted to do some test shots, practicing camera work and getting used to my set up.

My first question would be to do with lighting.

I set my two lights up in a 3 point lighting manor as the key and fill (had to soften the key as it was close to subject due to limited space (used a sheet) and I used a practical light (lamp) as a back light.

The light was obviously very "daylight" due to the 5500k bulb and I'm guessing I need to get the colour temp more around 3200k to achieve a tungsten look more in line with indoor evening shots? How can I achieve this?

Is it a case of purchasing different bulbs or diffusing the light using some form of gel? The lights as mentioned are soft boxes so not sure how gels can be used?

Also I would like to make a China ball light but can't seem to find recommendations for hardware relevant to the uk market can anyone help?

The light was obviously very "daylight" due to the 5500k bulb and I'm guessing I need to get the colour temp more around 3200k to achieve a tungsten look more in line with indoor evening shots? How can I achieve this?