Lenses for the 5D

Hey all!

I just started shooting a web series and have picked up a canon 5d mii. Just ordered a 24mm samyang 1.4, and a 50mm canon 1.4.
We're doing things on the cheap, can't afford lighting, so I figured these two lenses would help us out in low light conditions. Any recommendations on any other cheap lenses I should get around? I've heard raving reviews about the two I've ordered, but am keen to hear your advice!

I think that's a good start, I find 24mm on the 5D to be pretty useful - much wider than that is a little too extreme for regular use. I'd say if you can pick up a rokinon 85mm f/1.4 it would round out the set nicely, I think they run about $300.

The Canon EF 85mm f1$200-$300 used on ebay. New it runs $325-$370 depending on where you get it.

I would recommend getting at least some kind of lights. Fast glass is great and all but I like the option of having a deeper DoF. When possible light for the exposure that you want.

Old 35mm film lenses + an adaptor can get you some monster deals... Just picked up a f/3.5 135mm for $10. Add the $10 adaptor, and I've got a $20 lens with some really nice old glass in it... made for 35mm film, so crisp as all get out.

Old 35mm film lenses + an adaptor can get you some monster deals... Just picked up a f/3.5 135mm for $10. Add the $10 adaptor, and I've got a $20 lens with some really nice old glass in it... made for 35mm film, so crisp as all get out.

That's adapted to a 5D? If so, could you give the specifics on the adapter you use?