• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

I need to make my dialogue sound like this. Please help.

Hey guys, so I am working on a film, and I really need to make my dialogue sound like the dialogue in this film:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-UvpzMUIdyE

I am not very experienced with sound mixing, and I have no idea how he made his audio sound like that.

Does anybody have any ideas on how he achieved this effect? It might even be multiple effects.

I would be extremely grateful if any of you have any ideas.

Well, if you really want to have dialogue like this you'll have to get yourself a program called Pro Tools - a free version of it exists named "Pro Tools First".

Then, with the "Space" plugin, there are presets for Post Production, and on there you can find tiny speakers and things to make a sound appear to be coming out of a small speaker.

Although, I would take it a bit further:

Phase Shift it a bit - or if you don't have any ability to do the above and do not want to get Pro Tools, simply take your dialogue track and duplicate it and nudge the duplicated track about 20 samples to the right. Playing both tracks back at the same time causes "comb filtering" that will be a quick and dirty way of achieving that effect - but I don't recommend it. I recommend you get the proper tool for the job. Pro Tools with the limitless amounts of plug-ins that can be used to achieve this effect is what you need to get.

On the alien, it's got some kind of flanger on it - like the effect you put on your guitar to go "whhheeeewwwwhhhhheeeewwwwhhhhheeeewwwww" set to about 2 seconds recycle time. This is another plug-in you need.