I have some money to spend.

Hello indietalk, this is my first post here as I have made the decision to start doing what I love, and hopefully make a great film out of it. I have a good idea, I have set experience (I work in the film business), and I have given myself a budget just for equipment.

$6000 Canadian

With this money, I'd like to:

1) Have a Camera that looks good if we're assuming it played in theaters. I've been reading about the Panasonic AG-HVX200a, for example.

2) A camera that supports an external mic, and will sound good, not just good, industry standard good. I'll drop the money on the mic. To me, perfect sound is more important than picture, but picture definitely needs to be good enough.

3)I'm not shooting Gone With The Wind, it's a pot boiler, dramatic heavy dialog story. No one gets into a gunfight, probably a handful of locations, lets put it that way.

4) I need 2 TB external HD's for my computer, and I need an editing suite. POSSIBLY more ram (all this is small potatoes)

I don't mind going a bit over budget, but basically my question is this.

For about 3000-3500$, what would be the best HD Camera I could buy? I was in love with the Canon XH-A1 for a while but I don't really like that it saves to cassettes, it feels like a dead technology.

If anyone could shed some light on this it would be great (sorry for not using a search function).

Question, what is your goal as a film maker? If your goal is to make a film, why are you buying gear? Of course if your goal is building a career as a DoP, then that makes sense.

But if it's to make this film, AND you work in the biz, seems to make more sense to spend the budget on the film and work with contacts who have equipment, no?

I'd agree with if you your goal is to make a film (not be a DP), I'd spend that money to hire a DP (with gear) and hire a soundman (with gear), and hire an editor (with gear) rather than buy the gear.