Hi everyone

Hi all,

Just wanted to introduce myself. I'm a student filmmaker, forced to teach myself because my school doesn't have a film studies program. I work with a great crew of other students and we bum off our school's tv studio's resources. I'm obsessed with all levels of filmmaking--writing, camerawork, some acting, choreography, editing, etc.--and have recently gotten very serious about producing good work, rather than just playing with a camera.

I'm here to learn, here to share. This year, I'm working on an wuxia (martial arts) short film, and this is my first year to have a real crew together. Simple things like budgeting, scheduling, contracts--things I probably would have learned in the first week of film school--are things I've had to learn the hard way.

So yeah, I'm getting serious about my film work now, reading books, joining this forum etc. You all look like a good crowd, passionate about what you do, and I'm looking forward to chatting with all of you.

By the by, anyone out there interested in wuxia? It's the genre I'm most experienced with as a filmmaker, though I intend on branching out after this year's film, seeing as I have rather eclectic tastes. I'm mainly interested in shorts, though that could change as I get more time, money and other resources.

Sup xuetang
Welcome Aboard, You'll find this site extremely help and informative. I know I have so far. They’re a great bunch of people here willing to help.

King Goldfish said:
Welcome xuetang. are you in the states or Asia? never heard of that form of martial arts.

anyways, Welcome.