Hey! New guy here!

Hey, my name is John. Im 20 years old, I live in Pittsburgh, and I graduated from PTI last October for Multimedia editing and design.
I'm not really sure what exactly to say here, but if anyone has any questions, feel free to ask!

When I was a kid, I always loved messing around with cameras, making goofy little homemade TV shows, taping family gatherings, stuff like that. Now Im trying to get into more serious stuff, so signing up here seemed a logical step.
It may be worth mentioning that, although I graduated from PTI more than four months ago, I haven't found so much as a single place I could possibly get a job. There's literally nothing in the PA area in terms of full time positions for video people. That being the case, Im most likely going to go back to PTI, this time for IT and Networking, since that's something that I know PA has a demand for.

Anyway, Im still looking to use what I already learned at PTI, so here I am.
I ordered a camera a few days ago from B&H Photo-video. This one.

In addition to that camera, I have (I think) a decent editing machine:
HP Pavillion Desktop PC.
Windows Vista Home Premium 64-bit
2.83 GHz core 2 quad
6.5 GB RAM
I currently dont have a graphics card, just the crappy one that come built in. I had a XFX Geforce 9500 GT 1GB, but it burned out.
I have Adobe CS4, 3DS max 2010, and FL studio XXL edition for editing, 3D, and music/sound respectively.

I was actually hoping someone could give me an idea of how good/bad my equipment so far is. I only bought the camera a few days ago, so I could still return it if its not good enough.

Nice setup you've got there!

Lots of great people here with great ideas. Don't be afraid to ask anything. Someone, somewhere on these boards has probably seen it, done it, broken it, blasted it, yelled at it or cried at it :). A lot expereince here!

Welcome! :)