Hey Kids

Hey boys and girls,

How you all doing? I'm new to indietalk and decided to finally join a film making community. I've decided to join this community because I've decided I'm going to establish a career in the film arts. I would really like to read other people's ideas who are already established and exchange information. I've wanted to make films for as long as I could remember and I've been making films since I was sixteen (note: I didn't say they were good). I just put in two years in a film school but found it completely unrewarding and uninteresting, I had one awesome mentor but for the most part it was rather blah. I recently formed a production group and right now we're working on a television show. We decided to do a television show instead of a film because I figure that a short film or a full-length would be fifteen minutes to ninety minutes with maybe one idea to a dozen ideas while a independent television show will be about six hours and with the format we've chosen it'll be hundreds of different ideas. Also I look at this television show as a boot camp for myself and my fellow comrades to learn and see what works and what doesn't. I've worked on quite a few short films and I found a great expense of energy for not much reward. Anyway we're hoping to get our TV show on a couple of public access channels in big cities and we already have a website and myspace. I guess what I hope to gain from this community is a sense of how to do business the right way within this industry since I've had my nose so far down to the grind stone in terms of studying styles I liked and trying to create cool things that I never really thought of the business side. One of the coolest things with doing this TV show is that I've learned there's so much more to film making than just writing, shooting, and editing. I've had to think about advertising, web design, budgets, etc. Anyway... I'm rambling and I apologize for that but I just wanted to say hey.