• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Help! My sound is horrid because I have no idea what I'm doing

Hello!

I'm a rather new filmmaker and I'm just finishing up my 3rd short. However, I notice that my sound seems to suffer in all of my shoots. This makes sense since I know slightly more than nothing regarding sound.

I have an Azden SGM-1X shotgun mic attached to my makeshift boom pole that feeds into one channel of my Zoom H4 recorder.

When I record, the sound is left channel only (it's in Input 1 which is left channel for stereo) and incredibly quiet. I end up having to go into SoundForge and move the left channel to center and then up the volume on the recorded WAV file. The raising of the volume has a tendency to cause a lot of background static which lowers the quality of the audio.

Any tips or missing equipment recommended?

Jason

I don't want to give tips on fixing bad sound in post, because there are very few good fixes on bad audio that aren't worse than reshooting or redubbing the audio in post.

However, with that said... here are a few tips on recording audio for film.

1) Never make a film without monitoring the audio... ie listening to what you're recording as you're recording it

2) Never record audio without having a way of monitoring the audio levels (because you can't judge levels by ear)

3) Get the mic as close to the action as physically possible and pointed directly at the actor who is delivering the line.

4) When your sound is bad, either reshoot or bring your actors back in to redub the lines (something you can only do if you wildtracked the ambience of each location)