Help me obi wan your my only hope

Im Planning on getting my first camera soon and after much research im so hopelessly lost its almost laughable. I need one for under 1000 and before you scream T2i at me i was concerned about the jello effect or whatever and the 12 minute shooting window. Other than some short films im planning on shooting i was going to shoot some longboard videos ( like skateboarding ) but the two draw backs i mentioned are kind of scaring me off ( plus it almost seems akward to shoot video on something designed for stills but im a complete noob so what do i know) .... and then i have to buy external sound stuff and everything which i dont have the coin for presently. I really do love the picture quality u get with the T2i So should i get the T2i stock or is their some alternative im missing. Feel free to add any other info i need to know and/or yell at me :)

Ok. I just got my shiny new T2i.. and I shall have NO problem w/ the 12 min thing. Do you really need to record 12 min or more w/o stopping ?? That would be a LONG LONG take. most all HD Camcorders have some issues w/ rolling shutter thing, not just an issue w/ HDSLRs, it is an issue w/ any camcorder in the $1,000 range unless you wish to go w/ a std. DV camcorder . If you are not gonna do fast pans side to sidie, not a big issue

TheT2i HDSLR does have an input for a mic, so if you are not needing bleeding edge best of the best sound, it will do, just get a mic w/ a 1/8" plug and your good. The HDSLR craze is about DOF, the control you will have being able to manually focus, set shutter speed and aperture. the ability to change lenses will give you a lot of flexibility and you really have a lot of control. If you will be thinking the cam will get exposed to dirt and moisture, spend a few $$ extra and get the 7D, it is the ruggedized version of the T2i w/ weatherproofing and has better stills capability.