Help choosing camera

Hello all,

I'm brand new to film making and want to give it a shot (excuse the pun).
I've looked at a couple of affordable cameras that I want just as a first camera to see whats what, I can't decide between the two.

Sony CX115 or Canon Legria HF M307

or if you think I'm way off and have any suggestions please let me know!

I'm going to be shooting short films/ music videos to get me started.

Thanks all

I've been looking myself....for music videos and just normal video/film. I see a lot of people using DSLR's for music videos (like canon 5d) over an actual camcorder (say like the sony HXR-NX70U). i have no idea why as the sony can do way more stuff than the canon 5d can....

maybe the accessories are cheaper on dslrs, lenses and whatnot. i know the audio input on dslrs (not important for music) is crap compared to camcorders.

i think i'll personally go with the sony, or something like it (i like the dust and weather proof as i'm in socal and it's very, very dusty) and it's about the same cost as the canon 5d, with being able to do a lot more than the canon 5d. as far as i can tell it should be just fine for music videos as well (which will some of the first stuff i do for myself).

however if someone else has input please do post here as well. i think we'd both appreciate multiple pov's.

thx