• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Have finished a full length screenplay

Hey everyone, new member here. I have just finished a screenplay for a full length feature film, my first. I would love to hear input from you as for where I should go from here.

Currently, I am drafting up letters and grant applications in the hopes of receiving funding for the project. The film is designed as a social impact film, so I have a good idea of which types of organizations to target with my requests.

As I'm sure all filmmakers are, I believe very much in this project. I am just getting my feet wet with learning about filmmaking, doing research, etc. I have some tv production experience with ESPN back in the early part of this decade, but that feels like a long time ago and still doesn't equal filming experience.

I've finished the screenplay and have a total vision of the project and want to direct it and bring it to life. I am just looking for some friends on here who can help me learn a little more about the process. Please no jokes about me being a newb, I'm quite aware of that. :)

Anyways, would love to hear back from any of you!

We all have to start somewhere. I started when I was in my early teens and now I'm pushing 40, so it's never too late to learn something new. I try to do so every day of my life.

And you've definitely come to the right place. I lurked for a couple of years before joining, and I am sure glad I did. There are some very knowledgable and talented individuals on this forum.

Congratulations on your first script! I remember when I finished my first and got it registered. It was the greatest feeling.

Last edited:
We all have to start somewhere. I started when I was in my early teens and now I'm pushing 40, so it's never too late to learn something new. I try to do so every day of my life.