• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Good books for creating a script out of orginal stroy idea.

Hello Everybody
This place rocks guys!! I just joined this forum and this is my first post. I am originally from India , but now I am living in Montreal, canada since 2 years. I have a MBA qualification. Since the age of 18, I have dreamt of making movies.I have watched Numerous Bollywood and Hollywood movies over the years and tried to understand the art of filmmaking I feel now the time has come when I should start working on my first script. The idea for this movie has been with me since 4-5 years and Iam totally convinced that I can make a very good movie out of it. . Ideally I would like to start working on my script within next two weeks. Before that, I was thinking if I could get hands on some decent books written on scriptwriting by industry experts. I tried checking on amazon and some other sites, but was overwhelmed by the information. One other thing is that my first script/venture would be for the Indian audiences primarily, and therefore I was looking for a book which is not too hollywoodish in approach. If you know what I mean. Iam looking for a book which could tell how to create interesting situations, in the realm of the main story, without having the writer resorting to create forced situations to elicit emotions. I know nobody can teach you art of stroytelling and I have my own various ideas which I would like to convert into interesting scenes, but even then if I could read a genuine book/s on screenwriting, it would be great. So, please suggest some good books on that.
Very soon , I would like to attend one month workshop on filmmaking conducted by NYFA . If anbody has any information on that, I would like to hear that too.
I hope to visit these forums quite often and intend to learn from all of you.
regards
dev

Last edited:
"The Hardest Part of Writing is Knowing What to Write." - SYD FIELD