• READ BEFORE POSTING!
    • If posting a video, please post HERE, unless it is a video as part of an advertisement and then post it in this section.
    • If replying to threads please remember this is the Promotion area and the person posting may not be open to feedback.

watch First test shots with Canon T3i/600D

Hey everyone!

I recently bought a Canon Rebel T3i/600D (it was a steal at only $550 with kit lens included), and did a few test shots the other day. I'm very new at shooting with a DSLR, and everything is handheld*, but I was wondering what everybody thought of it. :)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=phhTbEPq95g

Everything was shot at 1080p at 23.976 fps (24p), and edited in Adobe Premiere Pro CC and graded in SpeedGrade CC. Remember, it was my first time ever shooting with a DSLR and using all manual settings. I was just having fun. :)

Please let me know what you think!

Thanks,
-Jeremy

*Correction - all the indoor shots were shot with a rickety old monopod (the legs don't like to stay extended), and all the outdoor shots were handheld.

Last edited:
Nice work! The DOF and focusing work is very nice :yes:

But some shots were muddy, and other shots seemed a bit too dark/too bright. Shaky as well (read the bit about the monopod).

Yes, you are creepy yet.

Thanks! :)

That was actually my younger brother there at the end. He proceeded to act very strange after that, and yes he can be creepy... :lol:

Yeah, some shots had way too much noise in them due to improper lighting, and the ISO was too high. I also had the white balance off a bit which I tried to correct in post, but you can only do so much for that...

Still got quite a bit to learn, but I feel like I'm heading in the right direction! :D

I made this video tonight, too. Improper lighting aside, it was another fun test!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LxZv0lnn2Zc

Thanks! :)