Finally, Done Deal

Here's the plan - with all the hoopla about FCP 10 and time passing without fixes, I think I'll become, or attempt to become, proficient with Avid. I downloaded Media Composer 5.5 free trial and it doesn't look impossible. I know my way around Premiere to a relative extent and I think this will be my tandem.

Not that anyone cares. ;) Just thinking out loud.

Thinking out loud is still allowed, right?

I'm a Vegas Pro dude, yeah I know, depending on who you ask we're the Community College of editing tools. But it's all good. I love me some Vegas and someday, if I find that I really want to get into the editing thing in a major way Avid will be the way I go. But right now, I really, really dig Vegas. Just sayin'. In any case keep us informed, Cam, and if anything I hope this post provided some sort of moral support. Not that you were asking for it...now, is unsolicited moral support still allowed?

Hehe! I'm an editing software whore I suppose. I did the Vegas thing For Vegas 8&9 and switched to Premiere, which I'm comfortable with. You can get a job with Media Composer, though, if need be.

I have FCP 7 and X and I'm not feeling it. It works fine, but not my thought process. :)

I've been cutting exclusively on Premiere for quite a while now, but have used AVID in the past. I remember liking it. Seemed fairly intuitive and similar to other NLEs.

FCP X ain't my bag either.

Good to know there's a free trial! Might have to give it a spin :)